RE-1J School District
The Montrose County School District RE-1J services more than 6,500 students and offers a variety of district programs.

The district includes:
  • Six elementary schools
  • Three middle schools
  • Two high schools
  • Two charter schools
Delta-Montrose Technical College
The Delta-Montrose Technical College works to provide lifelong training and learning opportunities to the residents of their six-county service area. Their objective is to deliver quality education, using traditional and alternative delivery methods. Classes are offered days, evenings, weekends, and online. Also offered are professional development classes, which provide an opportunity for people to develop or enhance skills necessary for the workplace.

Mesa State College
The Colorado Mesa University Montrose Campus has been serving students in Montrose and the surrounding region since 1991. The campus provides selected associate of art degree complete tracks, bachelor of art degree completion tracks, general education classes, and selected upper division and graduate-level classes.